Navigation | Page content | Additional information

Page content

Press Dates

Presentation of the 2019 Columbus Prize of the Association of German Travel Journalists (VDRJ)

Leadership: Conference Language: German and Sign Language

Award Ceremony

March 8, 2019

14:30 - 15:00

CityCube A / A7

to Karl B. Bock, Managing Director of Runa Reisen

on 8 March 2019
in Room A7, City Cube, Level 1
as part of the Day of Accessible Tourism 2019


Each year, the Association of German Travel Journalists (VDRJ) honours outstanding achievements in tourism with the Columbus Award. The prize is awarded to individuals or institutions that have advocated for tourism in a special way. The membership meeting of the VDRJ in Dresden decided on the 2019 winner. The physical Columbus Award is a bronze replica of the supposedly oldest wagon wheel in history.

More information and previous award winners:

The award winner Runa Reisen is the market leader for holiday travel for guests with disabilities as well as people of any age in need of care. The specialist travel agency, founded in 2006, offers individual accessible package tours to more than 170 destinations in 30 countries worldwide. In addition to wheelchair holidays, care hotels, group accommodations and chaperoned trips, the annual catalogues also include offerings for guests with visual and hearing disabilities as well as allergy sufferers. In 2010 Runa Reisen receive the Golden Wheelchair award as the best accessible tour operator.

More information:


Vereinigung Deutscher Reisejournalisten (VDRJ)
Rüdiger Edelmann
Chairman and Spokesman
T.: +49 (0)5601 - 89 55 727
or +49 (0)152 - 33 721 451

Marina Noble
Managing Director Ehrenpreis,
T.: +49 (0)6102-3666-0 or +49 (0)171-316-9-315

Runa Reisen
Anne Heussner
Primo PR
T.:  +49 (0)173/213 80 16